Recycle my heart

Its interesting with all the talk of the three R’s: Reduce, Re-use, Recycle, it wasn’t until earlier tonight that I realised the most important thing that needed to be re-used or recycled was my own heart. I had always looked down on myself and my own needs, putting many of them on a back burner, ignoring my own heart. I don’t see myself as a martyr, merely as someone that didn’t value himself very much, pushing others’ needs higher than my own. Often I would wear myself out to the point of breaking and beyond, ignoring warning signs to health issues, both mental and physical.

For the past 15 months this has been changing, slowly but surely. The way I see myself has been changing for the better. It took a very special person to bring this change about. This special person now shares my life, home, good times and sad times. With him in my life, I have been learning to see myself through his eyes.

They say walk a mile in someone’s shoes in order to understand them, but I take size 10 and he takes “nearly” an 8, so that couldn’t work. I see the sparkle in his eyes when he looks at me. I feel his love for me in every word he utters, his caress sends electric shivers across my body.

My heart has found a new use, one that is so intense and amazing that it overflows from me,  and filtering out to others. I see myself through his eyes, and I’m beginning to see myself in a new light. I accept myself and feel complete.

Don’t be settled with second best, hold out for someone that can recycle your feelings and create something new and strong. Go on, you’re special, you deserve it too.

xx

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment