Money saving tip No2- “Unscrew your screws”

Whenever I am doing any DIY jobs around the home I always seem to spend haf the time looking for the correct screw, bolt, drill bit or rawplug. I recently priced up one of those sectioned boxes with a lid and also a small set of craft drawers to keep all the DIY fixings in and decided that as good as they are, I would need several of them to keep all the bits I needed, separate and sorted. Then I remembered back to my childhood and a trick I came up with to help my Dad keep his home workshop tidy.

Glass Jars

You might say..” obvious!” but the idea doesn’t end there, The important thing is to collect the jars that have metal lids. The lids are stronger than the plastic ones and won’t buckle under the weight of the jar when filled with screws.

Once you have your jars unscrew the lids and, using an appropriately sized screw, fix the lid underneath a cupboard or shelf. Then it is a simple matter of screwing the jar back onto the fixed lid.

Presto instant free, adaptable storage. The bonus is that you can see what is inside, you can label the jar with the screw sizes, and it is a simple job to remove the jar to take it to the DIY task you are doing, in the full knowledge that you have the correct size screws.

A friend of mine adapted this to a slightly different use….

Instant shelf mounted vase.

Have fun and see what uses you can come up with for your old jars.

Recycle, re-use, adapt……save money by being creative.

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in money saving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Money saving tip No2- “Unscrew your screws”

  1. Jamie Dedes says:

    Hey, that’s a good tip, Randy. Thanks. I wonder if this would work in the kitchen w/my spices.

  2. Joanna says:

    I might have to steal this idea soon! I have many empty jars. How I love free projects..

    xo,
    j

  3. Priya says:

    I am certainly going to try this one out. My favourite amongst all of the ones I’ve read here! Came here through Chris’, and am I glad I did!

  4. Thankyou, glad you liked it. more to follow soon xx

Leave a Reply

