Money saving tips No5- “recycled scoop”

It’s funny how things come to you when it’s needed. I was in the kitchen, thinking of writing another money-saving tip, I was doing the washing, the washing-up, as well as half a dozen other jobs all at once. I was about to put the washed tins and bottles in the recycling, when an idea popped in my head from the past. i can’t remember where the idea originated, probably some children’s programme from years ago.

The empty, clean, plastic milk bottle triggered the memory. With a little bit of scissor-work this could turn into something useful…..”where is Edward Scissorhands when you need him”.

Use some nice sharp kitchen scissors to make a slit in the side of the bottle, take care as the waxy plastic can slip against the scissors without cutting it. Its important here not to be tempted to use your best sewing scissors, as the plastic could well blunt those precision blades. Then insert the scissors and cut at an angle as in the picture.

Make sure you keep the bottle lid on, this will not only strengthen the scoop while you cut it, but will stop anything falling out when using it as a scoop. Finally, once you’ve trimmed and sharp edges, you can always use a little fine sandpaper to remove any sharp bits, your scoop is ready to use.

It is great as a cat litter pooper scooper, or, not using the same one obviously, as a dry pet food scoop.  Depending on the size of the bottle, you could use it for horse pellets too. The small one could be used for flour, sugar or any other baking ingredients.

Something i just realised as I started to write this blog, it can also act as a funnel for whatever you scoop, just tip the funnel back, with the bottle cap over any jar or bowl, and carefully remove the cap, easy!

I took my new scoop to my partners garage, and a good idea too, because unknown to me, that morning he had flattened the scoop that he used for the oil spill soak-up grit……perfect timing, Job done! 

I think I’ll make one for a friend of mine that likes gardening, should be good for potting the compost…..without any mess.

Tell me what you use yours for……

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in cars, food, money, money saving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Money saving tips No5- “recycled scoop”

  1. chriscaff says:

    Great idea for compost. Cut the bottom off cleanly all the way round and I’d have a funnel for topping up the bird feeders, too! Or how about cutting the bottom off and using one as a cloche? Ventilate by removing the cap.

Leave a Reply

