Money saving tip No1- “From bed to flower bed……”

I was going to post this in my space-saving series….but decided to start a new category, “Money Saving” series. All we hear at the moment is how much everything is increasing in cost, food seems like it’s increasing by the minute…..well there are many ways to save money, create money and make things just plain cheaper than the shops can do it. This series of blogs will look at ways to recycle, alter, make, change the use of all sorts of things from the home.

This first blog in this series is entitled “from bed to flower bed….”

I recently came to the conclusion that my long-suffering sofa bed was probably coming to the end of its life, after several years of good service. A few of the slats had broken, leaving gaps under the mattress that could cause you to slip down between the good slats. I won’t go into the reasons behind the broken slats, needless to say some of them are down to the passions of my new relationship. Also the foam mattress, which was only meant for occasional use has been squashed and compacted to the point of no return.

I had looked up alternative sofa beds on the internet, ones that were modern when in sofa form, and provided a nice comfy double bed when deployed……nothing less that the £400 mark could be found anywhere.

Then a friend said she was getting rid of her double bed in her spare room so she could turn it into a full-time office for her photography business: http://www.caffimages.co.uk/ . She had already removed the bed base, was selling the mattress and was preparing to use the slats on the garden fire. When she heard my plight, she offered me the replacement slats, which were greatly received.

I spent a day removing the old slats and rather flimsy fixings. Then fitted the new wooden slats to the metal frame using a drill and self-tapping screws. The bed has been fixed and is stronger, and a lot quieter lol.

The old slats were going to take the place of the new ones on the garden fire….until I had a brainwave……WOVEN FENCE panels!

I had enough slats to make two panels, they even have the legs which will easily slot down into the ground for support. I just need to add a retaining screw in each corner and they are done. They should last a good while in the garden because of the gluing process used when they were laminated.

FREE: newly revitalised sofa bed frame.

FREE: new ornamental garden fence panels.

The new fence panels will be on their way back to Chriss as a thankyou for the fixed bed, as well as some tasty yellow courgettes she gave me from her beautiful garden. Thanks Chriss,hope you like the new fencing XXXX

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in money saving, space saving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Money saving tip No1- “From bed to flower bed……”

  1. Joanna says:

    This is very inspiring. Hope to see more of this new post series of yours.
    xo,
    j

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    Bravo! Perfect start to the perfect idea for a series.

    Blog on …

Leave a Reply

