Space saving tips: Number 2

 I love entertaining in the home. As I mentioned in a Space Saving Tips number 1, I have a small flat, so entertaining friends by having a dinner party could be problematic. Especially when it comes to storage of dining furniture, namely table and chairs. My table solution I will share with you in SST3, for now I want to offer you a solution to storing those dining chairs when not in use.

Firstly its a little obvious, but choose folding chairs,
I opted for some strong, metal folding chairs, 6 to be exact. My table can seat 7 easily, or 8 at a push. I usually cater for 6.

Every room in my flat is totally multi-functional, they need to be. This has given me the chance to come up with novel solutions to storage. The “dead space” I mentioned in SST1 is easily found if you look upwards. I have created storage for my dining chairs above door height in my hallway.

The space above door height is often wasted space. My chairs are held on the wall by cheap, simple shelf brackets.

I painted them black so they wouldn’t be seen against the black wallpaper, when I was using the chairs. The chairs simply hook over the brackets, one by one, 3 chairs on each set of brackets, simples. It is an added bonus that the chairs cannot be seen from my front door due to a structural obstruction across the hallway ceiling.

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in space saving and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Space saving tips: Number 2

  1. richard says:

    Your use of space is legendary, things just pop from everywhere. How you squeeze a tree and 77 inch screen in aswell is beyond me. Great stuff.

  2. Joanna says:

    It’s genius! I love it!

Leave a Reply

