Cool or Uncool is a matter of where you sit!

I’ve noticed on the bus that some seats are deemed to be “cooler” than others. I can’t work out why you are more cool with more street “cred” if you sit at the back of a single-decker bus, than at the front. Is there some magic at work at the back of the bus? Do younger adults know something the rest of us don’t?

With a double-decker bus, the areas equated with how “cool” you are have more options to choose from. Upstairs at the front is cooler for younger people, whereas older teenagers prefer upstairs at the back. There is a last option on the double-decker if it is too full, and that’s downstairs at the back. These back seats become guarded from other people joining them by putting their feet up on the seats facing them.

I like to mess with their heads a little and take position in one of these “cool” spots even when the bus isn’t full and those areas have the last available seats. This is much more fun when I am wearing my flat cap, as I am then deemed uncool to sit there.

On these occasions I can feel teenage eyes glaring at me, mutterings under breath follow and giggles. I have wandered into territory that is NO ACCESS to older people. Ah well, time to turn my i-pod up so they can hear my music for a change….now what should I listen to today? Glen Miller or Mozart?

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in childhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cool or Uncool is a matter of where you sit!

  1. Jon Vagg says:

    As an oldie, on single deckers I prefer the seats at the front near the luggage rack (if I have luggage) or the raised area at the back over the engine (better view). On double deckers, either of these, or the front of the top deck so I can see where I’m going. I’d guess teenagers would go for these, or the back of the top deck if they’re doing something they don’t want others to see.

    Depends on the bus, of course. In London a lot of the buses no longer have many seats downstairs, so any seat is a good one.

    Music – I’d suggest industrial, e.g. Combichrist (‘Everybody Hates You’) or Angelspit (‘Skinny Little Bitch’). Alternatively try Stockhausen or Einstürzende Neubauten. If you turn the volume way up it will make people think the bus engine is about to explode (and you’ll get the vocalist of Einstürzende Neubauten shouting ‘Fire! Fire!’ on one of the tracks).

  2. chriscaff says:

    LOL Knowing you you’d turn up the Nine Inch Nails! Or try Prodigy. They use sirens that sound like the police are about to pull you over. That should give them pause for thought!

  3. all I know is that people who are from the area who ride the bus, choose the “cool” spots but for tourists they prefer the front for the reason that they can see the view so well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

