gay mannerisms “GFT”

I have been meaning to write a post on this topic for some time. Speaking as a very observant gay man, I noticed, more and more a mannerism that gets stronger as the group of gay men gets larger. I nicknamed it “GFT” which stands for “Gay Facial Tick”.
Often, but not always (I don’t want to stereotype here), groups of gay men when they get together and especially where they are slagging something off, or talking about someone, they start to (what we call in the north of England), mimo. This is where the lips over-form words and often the voice goes into a hushed mode. Imagine a really bad drag queen trying to mime. This was famously portrayed by Les Dawson when he played Ida in his TV shows, chatting “can you believe her at number 7…..doesn’t bleach her doorstep!”

This alone doesn’t constitute a GFT, this comes after the comment has been made and takes the form of a few gestures put together. The GFT is when they have finished their “slagging off” (insulting), their jaw drops open and the whole face mimics a shocked look.
There are a selection of GFT styles:
# The drop jaw-open mouth
# The drop jaw – closed mouth
# The downward tilted head – raised eyebrows

There are many of them but they are always used like a kind of “can you believe it” type of full stop.

I will be posting a video link to examples on YouTube soon. I will add a link here to show you.

Watch groups of gay men, watch your friends, I know you’ll spot it. GFT!

by Randy Wornhole

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in Camp and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to gay mannerisms “GFT”

  1. I am never going to look at another man, be him gay or straight in the same way. You have spoiled my chance of a normal chat ever again, Thanks. lol.
    But really great observation, well explained, No-one’s safe when Randy’s about.
    Can’t wait for the vid. x

  2. Thanks perfect poetry, and you are VERY correct, no one is safe lol
    GFT!

  3. Debbie Parkes says:

    Down tilted head, raised eyebrows!! You missed off the twinkle in the eyes – very familiar I think and closely followed by being forgiven for whatever misdemeanour has occurred. Methinks your observations may be so familiar as its first recognised so close to home!! x

    • The twinkle in the eye is definately another good observation. Though I’ve also spotted this in the eyes of many a man (both gay and straight), trying to be all boyish to get out of trouble with friends/lovers/partners/colleagues. Its all part of their charm and why we love them so much. Bless their little cotton socks……(usually left on the floor in whatever room they happen to remove them) lol. xx

Leave a Reply

