I have a Tree in my cupboards!

Well, I had a planned Sunday of finishing some DIY jobs…..BUT started to look through my home office storage and realised I had a whole tree growing in there! OK so not one that has suddenly sprouted, with roots and leaves, but it has been growing never the less.
The tree in question was, and still is to some extent a paper tree. I have been saving, or rather not sorting through all the old bits of paper that comes through the letterbox on a regular basis. Its scary when you look through these bits of paper and you try to remember “WHY OH WHY did I save them?”
Often the answer is, because it was easier than making the decision to throw it out. Considering I am now going to be working from home more and more means I needed to become more organised.

I wrote the first part of this blob as I was surrounded by piles of unwanted paper. The piles were roughly sorted into recycling paper and OMFG that needs shredding.

I can now confirm that the majority of the tree has been removed. I managed to fill two of the LARGE ikea bags with stuff to go straight into the recycling, and one small ikea bag that needs the laborious task of feeding to a hungry shredder.

Though my home office cupboards only contain wanted paper, there is still quite a bit of work to do on them. They are loosely filed into various topics, but need breaking down and clasifying into smaller sub-groups so that I can find what I want, when I want it. I do not intend to work using Sherlock Holmes way of clasifying in date order, using the amount of dust covering them as a gauge! I also know a writer in Loughborough that uses a similar method, (I’ll leave it up to him to out himself) lol.

It feels great to know that all that crap has been sorted. The next task is to do the same to the hallway cupboards and then the ATTIC!!

My attic is a bit of a black hole, everything I don’t need right at that moment is thrown up there….I really mean THROWN. I can’t find a thing. It is a job for the next couple of months and will no doubt involve many trips to the tip, much use of the recycling bin, and many more hours spent feeding the shredder. Ah well, nice to become more uncluttered. Best to get it done now before I get around to moving. It’ll make the whole process a lot easier.

Go on, I dare you…..open a cupboard and throw out a tree, you’ll feel a lot better for it.

by Randy Wornhole

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in busy day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have a Tree in my cupboards!

  1. chriscaff says:

    Oh, sweetie, we’re on parallel again! I’ve just eveicted the equivalent of a tree, too. Two recycling bags filled in one day and the dyson epmtied and refilled. A week of poorly plus days to catch up on work and a partner who doesn’t KNOW what a bin is for meant quite a bit of catching up to do! What an inspirational post! Spring clean and set the road to success!

  2. Jon Vagg says:

    That’s a great pic of the tree!

    Me, out myself? You must be joking! (Oops)

Leave a Reply

