Choice and the Important Decisions in Life!

I am often quite bemused by how people make decisions. Some toss a coin, some consult the I-Ching, others “just go for it”. Often I have found the least important decisions the most difficult to make: “would you like roast potatoes or mash with that?” has been known to send me into a mental blockade trying to decide…often trying to persuade them to do half and half. Other decisions, much larger ones, seem to be made with relative ease: “should I move to a completely different town, and start a complete new life?” done…easy! (in case my boyfriend is reading this don’t worry, its a past decision-though I would quite happily move to wherever you are!).

The other thing that strikes me about decision making is the importance people give to some decisions over others. I have noticed that when people get on the bus, they pause for quite some time before they choose who to sit next to. They will often scan to see if there is an empty seat. If there aren’t any empty ones….the mental “interigation” begins. They will look at everyone intently, trying to assess if they are a threat, a bore or if they smell. Often they give more thought and time to deciding who to sit next to on the bus, than they do to who they’ll sleep with. I wonder if they were drunk would they try to sit next toas many people as possible? Would they sit next to people when they are drunk, that normally, when sober, wouldn’t even sit behind them. Many “safer sex” messages go unheeded, yet the “safer seat” message is stuck to strictly.

Watch everyone when they get on the bus, see who they sit next to and how long it takes them to decide. If you watch too closely, YOU will be the one to avoid. LOL

by Randy Wornhole

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in bizarre and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Choice and the Important Decisions in Life!

  1. Jon Vagg says:

    I think there’s something quite profound and true about this. I suspect it’s a special case of Parkison’s Law of Triviality – the one that says big decisions are often made easily but people sweat over the little ones because the outcome is usually more immediate, there are more pros and cons to weigh up, etc.

    On a bus I’m usually the one who gets the maniac sitting next to me. Not sure what that says about me… not sure I really want to know!

  2. I was young (once) I was walking past the Royal Navy offices in Newcastle while shopping, I found myself in the Navy for the next 7 years. Strange I thought afterward.
    After a decision like that no-one seemed to want the seat next to me on a bus lol,

    Don’t go lol

Leave a Reply

