Old Ladies’ Humour

"If you want to get ahead...get a hat"

I love the humour of old ladies. They just say exactly what they think, often this is when they are widowed. On a few occasions I have been privy to their humour and philosophy:

My Nan once gave me the advice: “If you’re not in bed by 10pm….GO HOME!”

A middle-aged daughter had gone through a list of jobs she wanted workmen to finish at her home renovation, finishing with the line: “and I need one of them to sort my plumbing out. ” To which the aged mother replied, smiling: “I could do with a strapping man to sort my plumbing out too!”

It’s nice to know that as we all get older…”there’s still life in the old bird yet!”

there’s hope for us all. lol

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in Old Ladies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Ladies’ Humour

  1. chriscaff says:

    Thank goodness! LOL

  2. We wouldn’t have it any other way! I’m looking forward to the nursing home complete with super stereo and excellent collection of rock, blues, Goth and other music, as well as a specially adapted for the elderly dungeon! Fancy designing the equipment? 🙂

  3. LOL, I feel sorry for any staff of the nursing homes we end up in lol Though as we get older, you don’t need a dungeon and bondage……they just need to put an extra brake on our wheelchair, or put screw top lids on our rooms lol

  4. Too funny! Yes, we seem to lose our filters are we mature. Thank goodness! 🙂

  5. Perhaps we’d all be better off if we all did away with the filters completely.

  6. LOL!

    One of the best I’ve heard was from our elderly former housekeeper, who has Alzheimer’s, who pronounced “No romance without finance” as a guiding principle when she was young and dating her eventual husband, thinking she was back in those days.

    • Fantastic…….It makes you think that the saying about truthful things coming from “out of the mouths of babes and succlings” should read “out of the mouths of mature women and housekeepers” lol

Leave a Reply

