Money and Happiness

I’ve noticed that every month just before pay-day that my mood dips quite a bit. I’m not sure if that is because I usually have very little money left at the end of each month, or that my brain looks forward to having more money, and the down mood is almost like a prequel to the elated feeling attributed to pay-day. As a child I always used to get quite depressed leading up to some exciting event. Christmas was always preceded by a dip in my mood. I could probably say that this is because my adrenal gland has worked overtime getting me excited for the event, and leaves itself drained just before it arrives. I think it is my brain taking me lower to increase the rush from “the day” or event,

On Christmas day I quite often struggled to open my presents due to the level of excitement going through the roof. My brother used to get frustrated with me because I didn’t open them quick enough. He used to go through his presents like a swarm of mosquitoes through a farm of crops. He’d open one after the other in quick succession, hardly allowing himself time to see what each one was before moving on to the next. I always liked to extend the pleasure and look carefully at each item before moving on to the next.

Now as adults I think we still continue this into the way we live our lives. He rushes through looking for instant gratification in quick succession. I delay and stretch out the joy, My friends say that I am a master in delayed gratification, I probably am. This brings about quite an interesting view on life. Some things are held in my head for ages, sometimes years before acting on them. In relationships this isn’t good, I often admire from afar instead of making a move. Then again often the fantasy is better than reality. I often see things I’d like to buy and delay and delay for so long that it gets to the point I get bored of it and move on without having to spend any money on it.

Ah well…..time to go to the bank……ITS PAY DAY and the shops will be open in an hour!

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in money and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

