Future Proof my parents please!

Well its been few weeks since I set this here blog type thing up. “Blog” don’t you just love words, I wonder what it’s short for? Blah Log? Book log? Bring Lots Of Grief? I love how modern technologies have not only changed for ever the way we communicate, spend our free time, organise our lives etc. It has also created a complete new language. I can understand why my parents always look forward to my visit. I spend the time explaining TV adverts, tech words, abbreviations. Explaining what Blue Tooth is, Blu-ray, or the acronym LOL,  all become part of the visit. Although having to explain to my Dad who is 80 and my Mum who is 72 what PMSL meant wasn’t fun. LOL. I forget sometimes how much things change, often too fast for some of the older generation to keep up with. I still smile when I see my Dad use the remote control (or “worker” as he calls it), it must be stuck in his mind that you have to PUSH buttons on the TV, because as he presses the remote button, he thrusts the remote towards the TV. Maybe he thinks you have to send the signal physically. Don’t you just love em. X

About rhythmtherapy

I am incurable, I don't have an infection apart from my rather, sick at times, sense of humour. I see the funny side of most of life and am the QUEEN of inuendo. I make no apologise for swearing as I find it adds real passion to what I say.
This entry was posted in future proofing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Future Proof my parents please!

  1. jonvagg says:

    At least it was only PMSL – you might have been trying to explain an Urban Dictionary entry!

  2. I may direct my Mum to the Urban Dictionary when she starts her internet access next month. LOL, PMSL, OMFG!

Leave a Reply

